• Call Us Now!  (515) 423-0804

  • 2017 Southlawn Drive, Suite D, Des Moines, Iowa 50315

Significance of Belts

There are seven belts: white, yellow, orange, green, blue, brown and black. White is given to beginners and black is given to students who have progressed through the grades and have a solid foundation for learning the techniques of Tae Kwon Do.

The definition of the belts are as follows

White Belt

The color white signifies innocence, as that of the beginning student who has no previous knowledge of Tae Kwon Do.


Yellow Belt

The color yellow signifies the earth. The beginning student begins to create a firm foundation in Tae Kwon Do technique, just as a seed begins to expand its root system deep in the earth as it begins to grow.


Orange Belt

The color orange signifies the changes of Autumn, as the student's mind and body begin to develop and grow as a result of the new Tae Kwon Do experience.


Green Belt

The color green represents growth, like that of the green plant as it sprouts out of the ground. The student has built a firm foundation and now begins to grow in the art of Tae Kwon Do.


Blue Belt

The color blue represents the sky. Reminding the student to reach for the heavens and continue their Tae Kwon Do journey.


Brown Belt

The color brown represents the ripening or maturing process as that of the advanced Tae Kwon Do student whose techniques are beginning to mature.


Black Belt

The opposite of white signifies maturity and dignity, as that of a senior student of Tae Kwon Do who has learned the basic curriculum of Tae Kwon Do and is ready to become a true student of Tae Kwon Do.


One of the greatest misconceptions within the martial arts is the notion that all black belt holders are experts. It is understandable that those unacquainted with the martial arts might make this equation.

However, students should certainly recognize that this is not always the case. Too often, novice black belt holders advertise themselves as experts and eventually even convince themselves.

The first degree black belt holder has usually learned enough techniques to defend himself against a single opponent. He can be compared to a fledgling who has acquired enough feathers to leave the nest and fend for himself. The first degree is a starting point. The student has merely built a foundation. The job of building the house lies ahead.

The novice black belt holder will now really begin to learn technique. Now that he has mastered the alphabet, he can begin to read. Years of hard work and study await him before he can even begin to consider himself an instructor and expert. A perceptive student will, at this stage, suddenly realize how very little he knows.

The black belt holder also enters a new era of responsibility. Though a freshman, he has entered a strong honor able fraternity of the black belt holders of the entire world: and his actions inside and outside the training hall will be carefully scrutinized. His conduct will reflect on all black belt holders and he must constantly strive to set an example for all grade holders.

Some will certainly advance into the expert stages. However, far too many will believe the misconception and will remain novice, mentally and technically.

Belt Ranking

  White Belt
  Yellow Belt - Low
      Yellow Belt - High
Orange Belt - Low
      Orange Belt - High
  Green Belt - Low
    Green Belt - High
Blue Belt - Low
      Blue Belt - High
  Brown Belt - 3rd Temporary
              Brown Belt - 3rd Permanent
              Brown Belt - 2nd Temporary
              Brown Belt - 2nd Permanent
              Brown Belt - 1st Temporary
              Brown Belt - 1st Permanent
Temporary Black Belt
Black Belt

Tying A Belt